Slice of Life March 10

Haven’t had a minute to think about what my SOL would be today for I commuted to and from work with a carless friend. That time spent alone in the car is a treasured time collecting thoughts looking back and forward, but not today. So I’m free-wheelin’ it.

Have had this incredible craving all week for ratatouille (spelling?) all week. Often my food yens are in the not-so-healthy category. I better run with this. The bubbling pot on the stove with an almagam of eggplant, zucchini, pepper, onion and tomato, is calling out, “Make me! Make me!” All are on their own respectable vegetables, but together a symphony of garden delights. Sometimes, when it comes to cooking food I enjoy eating, I don’t have to go to all the bother. No, I am not talking take-out. I’m talking a virtual experience. Get out the tried and true cookbook and begin. Cut two medium-sized eggplant into bite-size pieces…… As I’m reading, I actually become mentally engrossed in the process.  So much so that I am not just reading about what to do, I am doing it, in the canyons of my mind. Delusive, to say the least. But a vicarious experience in which I prepare the food and eat it. No mess, no clean-up, no calories? Sometimes, this does really satisfy my need to eat/cook something scrumptious. Sometimes it doesn’t. Like now. Grocery store, here I come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment